Sunday, April 19, 2009

Thoughts on Amazing Race and what not..

So, this weekend has been pretty fun. I've learned the meaning of patience and also the fact that I seem to have very little to none of such a thing. But I digress...

Today was a great worship set. Now, I'm not saying it was great by that the sound was good, or that the instruments were all in tune, or the performers did well (which all happened). I'm alluding to how the entire set was aimed around pleasing God and making Him more than anything that we can do. We're smaller, and are not as big as we think. God, on the other hand, is HUGE compared to us. So, in turn, we need to lay ourselves down and give our rights, pride, and ambitions to God and say "take control, use me as you will"....this is not something most Americans dig...AT ALL

The fact that Jesus who could have gotten off the cross but didn't astounding to me. The fact is something that I cannot truly grasp....and ya know what? I could care less because that same God that gave His Son for us is the same God that loves us more and more everyday. Kind of blows your mind huh? Or "kinda blows your mind eh?" if you're from our neighbors up north!

So, tonight I realized that people can be mean. I understand that the Amazing Race is a reality show and it's sad to see how some people act. The worst thing I've ever seen in that show was how one team treated another tonight. The team I am thinking of when I mention this is a team of two people from the University of Louisville. It was inhumane how they stinkin' laughed at one of the contestants who was deaf when he tried to sign out his frustrations about them. They never once said, "hey, I'm sorry, this isn't a good thing for us to do" but instead said "hey, we laugh during tense situations and that's what we do...we laugh and smile". Well, you laugh and smile while someone who is DEAF is trying to talk and that's not just rude, it's despicable. I hate it that this team tries to piggy back off another team then beats them to the finish since both of them are atheletes, and then does this?! I'll be the first to admit, the other team has been manipulative during the game but guess what? IT'S A GAME! The guy on the other team being deaf? THAT'S NOT A GAME! It makes me sick to see this and how the guy in charge of the whole race (Phil) can look at this and not try to make them stop but he lets them go on. I personally think that this is just sick but hey, they belive in "karma" and such so we'll see what happens...

Song of the Day: "Liar"-Taking Back Sunday

No comments:

Post a Comment